This weekend I got to play a lot

Which is exactly why I didn’t go and make a proper post.

This weekend my friend came over, we played games, watched anime on my fancy new LED monitor, tried out my fancy new pro looking tripod, fixed this and that with my car, took it a car wash. Fun times.

So I will just leave you with a couple of shots I took last week when I was playing with my LX5.

I took this shot trying to recreate an entry in that Good Smile photo contest. It saddened me that said entry was not among the finalists, in fact many of my favorites were not on the finalists.

This is one thing I hate about taking pictures outside, I need more hands. I can’t hold the figure, camera and block the sun. Alternatively I could just have taken someone else to help me I suppose.

Anyways, I am excited for my next photo shoot. Finally got my hands on a figure I wanted from before I even collected figures.

Follow Miettechan on Twitter

About Miette-chan

I like girls, games, Japanese media and Touhou. I take pictures of things I like. Also have a blog. http://miettechan.com/
This entry was posted in figma, Figures, Max Factory and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to This weekend I got to play a lot

  1. Ashlotte says:

    Love that back to back shot! Do you have a link to the original?

    Could do without some of the background elements, but the lighting and Marisa’s pose with the crazy smile its all kinds of awesome! 😛

    • Miette-chan says:

      Not really, I saw it somewhere on that twitter thing with all the entries. Although on that entry Reimu and Marisa where doing something like a high five or so.

      Indeed, I was mostly concerned with the lighting, waited for sundown and all.

  2. E.S.W says:

    Really cute pictures! Marisa’s pose reminds me of a Western movie! I am curious to see what figure you got that you had been wanting. It is always so exciting to find a figure you never thought you would own.

    • Miette-chan says:

      Indeed, given her relatively high prices, my lack of employment and rare availability I had given up hope.

      Thanks to MFC sale notifications here we are, she is in my possession thanks to currently having employment and therefore the funds to buy her.

  3. E.S.W says:

    Congrats on being employed and getting grail figure. It’s ridiculously hard to find/get a job now.
    It’s nice when everything aligns perfectly!

  4. bd77 says:

    Ohhh… Loved the shot with Reimu and the sunset.

    Needed more hands, normally I bring along a few stands in the outdoors. =D

    • Miette-chan says:

      Cool, blinding myself was worth it if people enjoy that picture.

      At the very least I got a worth while tripod now, so I should have one more free hand next time.

  5. Duqs says:

    I kinda felt that there were too many entries that didn’t while some were arguably undeserving to some, i have a feeling that they judged them in a hurry

    yes a tripod goes a long way, especially in macro photography =D

    • Miette-chan says:

      I wouldn’t be surprised, although I did see an inclination towards BRS stuff.

      It’s been so long since I had a tripod, the last one didn’t last long, crappy plastic tripod.

  6. Fabienne says:

    Good to hear that you had fun with your friend at the weekend, I must always watch anime alone, since my friends aren’t interested in it ^^

    This sunset picture looks really good, I like it.
    none of my favorites made it to the finals at this contest maybe I have no taste XD

    Which figure have you bought? Im curious ^_^

    • Miette-chan says:

      That’s no good, one of the things I enjoy the most about watching anime is talking about it with my friend. Hope you find someone with the same interests as you someday.

      I suspect a bias during the selection process might be to blame.

      You should find out next week.

  7. Zai says:

    Weekends are so much more fun when you’re working. Sounds like you had a great time. 😀

    Liking both of the shots you took a lot, seems like that LX5 is working out well for you! Congratulations on your new figure, by the way.

    • Miette-chan says:

      Indeed, weekends had become just another day for me. Now that I work they are meaningful and something I look forward to again.

      I’m weary of the LX5 now, its auto outperforms me even when I got out of my way to set up the settings manually. Great little camera.

      Yes, one more, one more figure I will have all the older figures I really want.

  8. Luth says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend! And Marisa’s hat looks awesome. I have a pretty good idea of what this mystery figure is and I can’t wait to see the results xD

    • Miette-chan says:

      Sure was, beats my original plan of cleaning my room, that I didn’t get to clean come to think of it.

      You do, did you perhaps read my tweet about it?

  9. Nopy says:

    Taking outdoor figure pics sounds like it could get complicated without someone else to hold everything. I guess I’ll need to drag along a lackey when I start taking outdoor shots.

    • Miette-chan says:

      Alternatively you could do what I neglected to do, use a tripod and my camera’s timer. At the end of the day I prefer to take an assistant, helps with the moral support and all that.

  10. radiant says:

    Mmm… seeing these couple of pics and hearing about your weekend makes me happy… but it looks like this happened last weekend. ^_^; sorry

    so what did you do this weekend? XD

    • Miette-chan says:

      Indeed it was, made me happy too.

      A code review for our lovely XNA shmup with my friend. It was relatively fun, we ended up playing games again though.

  11. radiant says:

    oRZ I forgot you already told me what you did this weekend. >_>

Leave a Reply

