Something looks a little different around here!

Pretty obvious what that something is right?

I changed the wordpress.com theme I had before for two reasons. The first is that I simply was a little bored of the one I had ever since I started blogging last year.

The second reason is more beneficial to the type of content I post. The previous theme I had was developed for 800×600 resolutions. This is the default wordpress.com theme for blogs and was newly created this year with bigger resolutions in mind.

To put it simply, I can put bigger pictures than before as you can see by taking a look at Reimu above.

About Miette-chan

I like girls, games, Japanese media and Touhou. I take pictures of things I like. Also have a blog. http://miettechan.com/
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Something looks a little different around here!

  1. Nopy says:

    Bigger is better 🙂

  2. bd77 says:

    I still haven’t found one that suits me (in changing my current theme). But I do agree this one provide a larger picture display (but less colour =P).

    • Miette-chan says:

      I’m not entirely content with this theme but given that not many of the wordpress.com allow for big pictures I don’t have much choice.

      I’m content with the bigger pictures for sure though.

  3. super rats says:

    The new default wordpress theme is actually pretty good. Good enough at least to give you time to find another one or make one without worrying about the site looking bad.

    • Miette-chan says:

      It works well enough for what it is, although I would like something a bit different. WordPress.com’s lack of themes with flexible width for pictures does bum me out.

      If I wasn’t so stingy I would move over to a self hosted blog and find a better them or make own just like you said.

  4. AS says:

    Ya, a bigger picture is nice to put up, you can see more detail in the pictures you post. I used to post 500×375 pixels but now it’s increased to 600×420 I believe, big difference. Hopefully someone uploads a theme with something that you like in the future.

    • Miette-chan says:

      I went from 500×334 to 640×428 with this theme. Might not seem like much but it is a significant increase. Still I do feel photo blogs get the low end of the stick when it comes to themes that allow nice big pictures.

  5. Persocom says:

    Looking good, I’d like to make my pictures better but I guess they clash with 800×600 users.. (I got complaints before) so I stick with 500×375 ^^

    • Miette-chan says:

      That is surprising, who in the world could be using 800×600 nowadays?

      My biggest issue with the smaller pictures is that some of the detail was lost and people didn’t really click through the bigger versions either.

      At the end of the day though, what works better for you is the best.

  6. TAKET0MB0 says:

    Liking the new theme! He’res to bigger pictures!
    Reimu looking awesome too by the way c:

Leave a Reply

