There comes that time when…

…you no longer feel embarrassed taking pictures outside or carrying a 2D girlie with you.

I mean, taking my camera and figma with me is second nature now. Even when going out for serious business such as a job screening at my former university.

Before, I usually needed at least one friend who was into Japanese media like myself. Even then, I would still feel embarrassed but being with friends meant at least they would understand.

Then a change came to occur, as long as I was with friends it was all fine.

No more embarrassment and awkwardness, unless people actually pointed at me and made some sort of comment to themselves or their companions.

Just the other day thought I noticed not even that bothered me anymore. I just happily snapped away my pictures at the bookstore I met with my friends.

That’s not all thought, when I snapped that first picture I realized even when I was by myself I no longer cared about other people.

Which is quite nice, for all its awkwardness and misunderstanding Japanese media gets I have come to terms with it. Enough that I no longer care what other people think of me enjoying them.

About Miette-chan

I like girls, games, Japanese media and Touhou. I take pictures of things I like. Also have a blog. http://miettechan.com/
This entry was posted in figma, Figures, Max Factory and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to There comes that time when…

  1. Nino says:

    Good on ya! Personally I’d never have the balls to take my figmas out, but that’s probably more because I’m worried they’ll snap a joint or something.

    Yui looks adorable btw!

    • Miette-chan says:

      Funny you say that. I been taking them out since I first got my first one 2 years ago. Indeed I have had several breakages when I’m out and about.

      Still pretty fun on my part so I don’t mind.

  2. Nopy says:

    That time hasn’t come for me yet. I still haven’t met anyone in real life that doesn’t think collecting anime figures is creepy. Even at the local anime convention I hear people saying “ew, look at those dolls” and similar comments. Naturally, no figures are ever sold there.

    • Miette-chan says:

      That’s such a shame to hear, I do hope at least you will meet some like minded people someday.

      Besides collecting figures is no creepier than collecting anything else or any other hobby.

    • alucard13mm says:

      well.. i havnt met anyone else that has the same interest or same level of interest. even in otaku culture.. there are people who are more or less otaku-ish. frankly, i think the people on my campus’s anime club.. doesnt seem right. lol i doubt there will be many anime/anime figure fans at university =3..

      well u probably wont find that person(s) till u are more expressive at what ur interested in. thats why im coming out of the closet and becoming a more expressive otaku haha.a

  3. flyzice says:

    I’ve always thought of bringing a figma or a nendoroid with me when I’m out so I could pose them with/on whatever thing that cross my path but I never got the guts…yet. So it’s really cool to know that you’ve overcame the shyness! ^^;

  4. bd77 says:

    Confession – I only took my figures pictures either when no one else at the area of the park I’m at or get a few other guys who also bring along theirs… So far, done this at a seaside park, a few times.

    Folks around here will make (somewhat silly) assumptions when comes to (grownups with) figures. Sadly…

    Dang… Your photos of Yui makes me go “Hhhhhnnng~!” >_<

    • Miette-chan says:

      People do make assumptions, although I gotta say I have yet to have a person come up to me and ask me something.

      I have yet to go with other people out for the sake of taking pictures though.

      Glad you like the pictures.

  5. Valence says:

    My ‘friends’ shun me for figure photos. I need more friends D:

  6. alucard13mm says:

    lol im starting to wear anime related clothing XD.. i don’t really care much about girlies or popularity anymore.

    my question is.. what is the “norm”? there is none because theres nothing to compare it to. i think people who wear lakers jerseys are lame, but they probably think playing with figma or dollies is lame.. so who cares ^_^..

    job screening at university? bleh im almost done with university and i dunno what im gonna do.

  7. TAKET0MB0 says:

    Awesome post, its great that your comfortable doing what you enjoy and quite rightfully so you shouldnt have to care what other people think!
    Not to mention youre coming up with some lovely shots too

  8. alucard13mm says:

    lol you inspired me, next time i go to the library/school to study for 12+ hours before the finals.. ill bring a figure with me haha.

  9. AS says:

    Ya, it takes some time but going out with your figure/figma/nendo feels so natural after you do it ^^. I tend to zone people out when I’m doing pictures outside now. Nice pics.

    • Miette-chan says:

      I concur, I can’t really think of not doing so nowadays. I do the same think now, when I took these pictures I didn’t even notice the people around and was more concentrated with the discussion I was having with my friends.

  10. Pingback: Did I ever mention my favorite color is orange? |

Leave a Reply

